Home PageAbout UsSearchContact UsIdeas/OpinionsSite MapLinks and ArticlesQuotesChild CustodyBig BrotherDemocratsRepublicansIraq WarBill of RightsTort ReformCriminal JusticeLibertarianismState of the UnionNJ GovernmentTaxation Government Powers
Img15.jpg What does the Constitution say that the government may do?

Too often we speak of the constitutional limitations of the federal government as though citizens know what Congress may do as listed in Article One, Section Eight of the Constitution.

Below are listed the things that the federal government may do. These are abbreviated for clarity, however, the meaning has not been changed.

What does the Constitution say that the government may do?

1. Borrow money.

2. Regulate commerce among states.

3. Regulate naturalization.

4. Regulate bankruptcies.

5. Coin money.

6. Fix weights and standards.

7. Punish counterfeiters.

8. Establish post offices.

9. Establish post roads.

10. Record patents.

11. Protect copyrights.

12. Create federal courts.

13. Punish pirates.

14. Declare war.

15. Raise an army.

16. Provide a navy.

17. Call up the militia.

18. Organize the militia.

19. Makes laws for Washington, D.C.

20. Make rules for the Army and Navy.

According to the 10th Amendment, all else is controlled by the states or the people.

Home Page | About Us | Search | Contact Us | Services | Site Map | Links and Articles | Quotes | Child Custody and Parenting | Big Brother | Democrats | Republicans | Iraq War | Bill of Rights | Tort Reform | Criminal Justice | What is a Libertarian? | State of the Union | NJ Government Gone Wild! | Taxation

Starfield Technologies, Inc.